seeingM

Sense of Scents

The human senses are such an amazing set of aerials we use to create and interact with in our reality.  One that has always deeply fascinated me is the sense of smell.  As a small child my parents took me to see a pediatrician as I could often be found licking rocks.  They were worried that I was deficient in some mineral and this was my way of attempting to add it to my diet.  However, the truth of the matter was that I just loved to smell the wet earth that was left on the rock when it was licked!  Even to this day, a walk after the rain while inhaling deeply is one of my favorite things to do.

Over the course of my life, smell has been a very important aspect of making life enjoyable.  I got my very first real grown up perfume as a gift from my father on the way back from my first trip to Europe with him when I was 17.  My dad had always worn a European aftershave called Tabac that he discovered as a young man when he was in the army stationed at the Berlin Wall in Germany.  To this day when I smell Tabac I am immediately transported back to being a little girl hiding under my dads suit jacket sitting on the pew at church.

Over the course of my life I have only worn a few different scents.   The one I was gifted by my father and wore in under graduate school is described as a blend of amber, honey, berries, and other spices.  The one I wore in my twenties is broken down by note as follows:

The exhilarating top note includes a profusion of grapefruit and mandarin with a tropical blend of passion fruit, mango, papaya and guava. The refreshing middle note is a bouquet of freesia, muguet, neroli, rose, lily, jasmin and marigold. The deep sensual base note is a luscious weaving of oakmoss, orris, sandalwood and vetiver.

The one I wore in my early thirties possesses a blend of vanilla, peach, rose, and freshly cut grass.  And now for the past chunk of years I have alternated by mood between wearing two different scents, Fresh Sugar Blossom and Philosophy Falling in Love.  I must admit that I purchased the Philosophy at first solely because of the reality creating words written on the packaging:

when it comes to love you need not fall but, rather, surrender. surrender to the idea that you must love yourself before you can love another. you must absolutely trust yourself before you can absolutely trust another. most importantly, you must accept your flaws before you can accept the flaws of another.  -Falling In Love by Philosophy

However, I have continued to wear Falling In Love because it smells playful, clean and quite frankly amazing.  I just hugged a bunch of people I have not seen in years at a FAA mandated work training event and it was fun to have so many people tell me how good I smell.  Yes, the nose that knows smells a good scent when it senses it.

This entry was published on February 24, 2012 at 6:20 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Sense of Scents

  1. Pingback: Hello My Name Is… | seeingM

Leave a Reply

