seeingM

Balancing of Consumption & Creation

One of the more powerful lessons that N has given me is the opportunity to experiment with how important it is to find a balance between consumption and creation in the flow of my life.  There are specific energetic signatures attached to each state of being that can provide wonderful pathways into the deeper flow of life.

  • .

Recently a friend asked if I would help contribute to a space she was creating in an authentic Indian teepee in the mountains which was going to be used as a gathering place for sharing and conscious conversation among women.  She said she had a vision of attaching prayer flags to the walls to add color and meaning.  This simple request gifted me a wonderful opportunity for creativity and creation with my hands in sharing preparations for this space.

  • .

When I looked around my own home and I contemplated what a prayer flag could be, my eye landed on the kitchen island bar chair back covers and suddenly I could see the fabric re-purposed hanging as flags in a new sacred space.

  • .

You see, slowly over the time that N and I have been sharing space, we have been working toward bringing a better balance in expressing our personal styles.  N and I found each other after my having lived a good chunk of years as a woman alone with the freedom to splash total femininity all around me (for example, when we first were together all my bath towels were a girly shade of soft rosy pink -and although I think all conscious men secretly enjoy being enveloped in the magic spaces made by women, I believe there is a limit to the amount of roses and ribbon we should subject them to).   In a flash inspiration for creation is there and as a result, now there is a bit more gender balance in our kitchen while my hands have had the joy of making something beautiful and special for a dear friend.

  • .

 

 

  • .

 

  •  .

Here is to the power in making something beautiful to share with the world.  Don’t fall into the trap and just consume others creations.   When next you get the chance, make something of your own.

This entry was published on July 2, 2012 at 7:29 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Balancing of Consumption & Creation

  1. For me, you and the things you touch with your attention embody this quote…

    Creativity has nothing to do with any activity in particular — with painting, poetry, dancing, singing. It has nothing to do with anything in particular. Anything can be creative — you bring that quality to the activity. Activity itself is neither creative nor uncreative. You can paint in an uncreative way. You can sing in an uncreative way. You can clean the floor in a creative way. You can cook in a creative way. Creativity is the quality that you bring to the activity you are doing. It is an attitude, an inner approach — how you look at things.
    -Osho

Leave a Reply

