seeingM

Relishing Read

A long time friend spontaneously came home from work with me last month (N is a gem for letting me spring stuff like this on him).  She was up visiting friends in Vermont, but when I finally returned her call (she was checking to see if I was in NY and could meet for lunch), it turned out she had some time before she needed to head home.  This is one of the joys being a flight attendant.  You live like you have a private jet… she flew down the next day, and hopping a plane on one coast with me, after a 5 hour chat catching up, we land and have a few days to poke around showing her my current hometown before sending her back to hers.

The real reason I share this little life story here is that we made a pilgrimage for me to show her the amazing Powells books near my home and so that on her recommendation I could purchase the following:

OH MY GOSH!  It has been a LOOOONNNNGGG time since I have read a book so slowly, wanting to relish every page.  I don’t want it to end. Today I am cuddled in my favorite reading spot, dying to see how things turn out on the visit to Madame Zhou’s (currently on page 276).

Jewels, thanks so much for your capacity to fly by the seat of your heart and for passing on such a stunner read.  I am pleased to be able to recommend it on here…if you haven’t already read it RUN and get it ASAP.  Enjoy.

Opening paragraph:

“It took me a long time and most of the world to learn what I know about love and fate and the choices we make, but the heart of it came to me in an instant, while I was chained to a wall and being tortured.  I realized, somehow, through the screaming in my mind, that even in that shackled, bloody helplessness, I was still free:  free to hate the men who were torturing me, or to forgive them.  It doesn’t sound like much, I know.  But in the flinch and bite of the chain, when it’s all you’ve got, that hating and forgiving can become the story of your life.”

Shantaram, A Novel  by Gregory David Roberts-

my favorite place to sit & read, Luke’s favorite spot & view from window as I sit:

.

.

little fur entities taking long naps curled up snoring in the sun is one of the best sights on this planet

.

This entry was published on August 6, 2012 at 12:03 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

