seeingM

Forbidden Waters, Accessing Waters

So we awoke a few Saturday’s ago to a boil water order for the area of the city that we live in.  It was so strange not to be able to just turn the tap on and drink.  During those few days we were forbidden to access water straight from the tap, over and over I was reminded how much I take access to water right in my own home for granted.

Washington Park reservoir located behind our home where problem was

As long as I can remember, I have always had a deep love of water. Traditionally I have been more of a fan of fresh water …a lake and stream person.  However, just recently N and I have been driving out on bimbles a few times each week to take a hike down to a secret beach about a hour and a half from our home on the coast.  When the tide is out and the rocks are exposed, this beach links to the rest of the coastline and we walk and talk along the edge of the water for hours.  It is bliss.  (It is to this beach that N took me for my 40th birthday!)

drift wood piece N & I found on last visit to the beach

It is funny, but it actually was a vacation to the desert earlier this summer that originally got me thinking about doing a post on water, not the recent boil order.

This was the view from our room at the resort earlier this summer.

We were at a little oasis in the desert.  I think it was with the lack of water that I started seriously remembering the healing role water has had in my life.  When things have been at their most challenging for me, somehow I always am guided to shed and share my tears with the great bodies of water on this stunning planet.

Just a few weeks ago I got to spend a day out on a very important lake shore for me in Chicago, IL.  During graduate school each day in the summer I would swim off this magic promontory point near my apartment.

view of Lake Michigan from the point and my hotel room

If it wasn’t for the harsh winters, I would have seriously considered moving back to Chicago just to be able to swim in that amazing body of water everyday.

Besides being reminded of the incredible work of Dr Masaru Emoto, recently I was also watching an excellent documentary about water and learned that by passing sound waves through water, scientists are able to create bursts of light in bubbles as they implode under the power of controlled cavitation…they fondly call the sonolumination stars in a jar!

Sound Waves + Water = LIGHT!!!

What was all that creation stuff in Genesis again…beginning with the sound waves of was it a word???  lol

I am mostly made up of water that is pooled within me, riding my tides as they move in and out, not believing in the illusion that anything is forbidden, but rather accessing my light within.  Absolutely fascinating.

Water, it is absolutely pure magic.

This entry was published on August 7, 2012 at 8:16 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Forbidden Waters, Accessing Waters

  1. Your words lead me to the notion that water could be Earth’s bloodstream, keeping it living. And surely we’re drawn to it, as we love gathering at its banks and shores. Land could represent the physical world, and water could represent the spiritual. We readily see all that’s around us on ground, but it’s not apparent to all what’s beneath the surface. We know there’s something else in the depths, but are we willing to take a plunge? The mystery of the water compels and invites to those who would dare.

    • “Our life, it probably began inside of the ocean. About four thousand million years ago. And for almost all of that long time, all the living things were water things, living inside the sea. Then a few hundred million years ago, maybe a little more – just a little while, really, in the big history of the earth – the living things began to be living on the land as well. But in a way you can say that after leaving the sea, after all those millions of years of living inside of the sea, we took the ocean with us. When a woman makes a baby, she gives it water, inside her body, to grow in.That water inside her body is almost exactly the same as the water of the sea. It is salty, by just the same amount.She makes a little ocean, in her body. And not only this. Our blood and our sweat, they are both salty, almost exactly like the water from the sea is salty. We carry oceans inside of us. And we are crying the oceans, in our tears.”
      — Johnny Cigar, SHANTARAM: A NOVEL by Gregory David Roberts (p.373)

Leave a Reply

