seeingM

Stars and Stormy Nights

She walks in beauty, like the night
   Of cloudless climes and starry skies;
And all that’s best of dark and bright
   Meet in her aspect and her eyes;
Thus mellowed to that tender light
   Which heaven to gaudy day denies.
One shade the more, one ray the less,
   Had half impaired the nameless grace
Which waves in every raven tress,
   Or softly lightens o’er her face;
Where thoughts serenely sweet express,
   How pure, how dear their dwelling-place.
And on that cheek, and o’er that brow,
   So soft, so calm, yet eloquent,
The smiles that win, the tints that glow,
   But tell of days in goodness spent,
A mind at peace with all below,
   A heart whose love is innocent!
::
::
I just arrived home after having ridden out hurricane Sandy in my apartment in New York City, were I was located due to being scheduled to work.  6 1/2 feet of water on the first floor of our building and a fire at the electrical box made for a stormy night of challenges and adventure.
::
The Howard Beach neighborhood I have lived in for 11 years now was not in the evacuation zone, but still was utterly devastated.  Miraculously, there were only a few deaths.  I waded out from the second floor of our building safely the next morning to the awaiting truck of a neighbor, who selflessly came back to our street over and over to get all of us who were stuck.
::
I will write more as I am rested and have had some time to cocoon at home with N.
::
Thank you to all those seeingM friends and readers who checked in on me over the past few days.  I remain calm and at peace.  I am grateful for the reminders of the things that are truly important in this life.  I am doing well.
xo.M
::
This entry was published on November 3, 2012 at 4:14 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Stars and Stormy Nights

  1. So happy, you’re okay Mare.

    • Thanks for touching base NB! Other than a few moments during the fire I really was ok. Even then it was just that I was concerned about having to evacuate a burning building into what at the time was 70mph winds and 5 1/2 of water with a neighbor in the shared wall of the building next door who does not swim. I was just at the point of thinking about making flotation devices out of air whipped/blown into trash bags tied off when the fire went out.

      Actually for me, it was just after the storm that was the hardest to witness. For example, my landlords live in Hamilton Beach (just south of us) and they lost their entire house. How does one comfort and assist those who have no deep spiritual foundation to draw strength from in times of crisis? I gave lots of hugs. x.M

Leave a Reply

