seeingM

Circling in The Windmills of My Mind

From Wikipedia:

Ensō () is a Japanese word meaning “circle” and a concept strongly associated with Zen. Ensō is one of the most common subjects of Japanese calligraphy even though it is a symbol and not a character. It symbolizes absolute enlightenment, strength, elegance, the universe, and the void; it can also symbolize the Japanese aesthetic itself. As an “expression of the moment” it is often considered a form of minimalist expressionist art.

In Zen Buddhist painting, ensō symbolizes a moment when the mind is free to simply let the body/spirit create. The brushed ink of the circle is usually done on silk or rice paper in one movement and there is no possibility of modification: it shows the expressive movement of the spirit at that time. Zen Buddhists believe that the character of the artist is fully exposed in how she or he draws an ensō. Only a person who is mentally and spiritually complete can draw a true ensō. Some artists will practice drawing an ensō daily, as a kind of spiritual practice.

And from my tradition:

Be still and know God. In the stillness, one creates the space that allows “God” to live through us.

I have said it before, but I am humbled by how ones creation, encodes within it the creator’s current understanding and connection to their divinity.  Our whole lives vibrate with our current ability to gain access to this presence of love.

sinners-are-more-interesting

When “sinners” are being honest with themselves from within their position of imperfection, I would much rather be in their presence than with “saints” who are doing all the “right” things for all the “wrong” reasons.  Their rightness rings hollow and deeds ultimately circle the drain of stagnation and destruction because they are not true.

I suspect this is what the prodigal’s son parable in the Christian tradition was getting on about.  It was about having the courage to create the ensō of ones life by living each day as if it were new, over and over.  This means sometimes getting it “wrong”, but having the courage to admit it, which then makes room for eventually getting it “right”.  It is being in motion moment to moment that allows each creator and their creation to be unique and new again.

::

::

Like a circle in a spiral, like a wheel within a wheel
Never ending or beginning on an ever spinning reel
As the images unwind, like the circles that you find in
The windmills of your mind.

This entry was published on May 5, 2013 at 6:31 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

9 thoughts on “Circling in The Windmills of My Mind

  1. Awake on said:

    I reminded of that quote: “In heaven, all the interesting people are missing” by Friedrich Nietzsche 🙂 I know I have learned more from my mistakes than from probably anything else.

    • Book that is LITERALLY sitting next to my computer as I turned it on and find this comment waiting from you: “Thus Spake Zarathustra” !!! Have been doing a refresher and deeper dive into some of the classics that I missed. LOVELY little sync there.

      Interesting how there are no mistakes unless lessons are not learned… and even then, it has been my experience that what I do not pay attention to the first time around, the universe is kind enough to send again in a different form until I pay attention. Like to catch the upgrade before “karma” ups the anti with something that escalates, gifted so it will not be missed :).

      Thanks for the Nietzsche nod! Excellent.

      • Awake on said:

        Got to love those Syncs! 🙂 I like what Bryon Katie has to say about mistakes too, that before the event happened there were many possibilities, but when the event happens there is only one.

  2. Pingback: Finding Jesus | seeingM

  3. Following the breadcrumbs. Great post on many points. The stillness that we must exhibit to allow the entrance of the divine. Allowing mistakes to exist as learning moments. The artist paints. Mistakes turn into happy little trees. We flow. The divine is the mistake and the success.

    I am adding “Thus Spake Zarathustra” to my list.

    • Happy little trees :). Bob Ross and I love the little wink you share. “Thus Spake…” is still in progress for me. I dip in and then contemplate and then dip in.

      So glad you enjoy the trail. You leave wonderful ones full of excellent contemplation as well.

      Hope all in the BG holiday flow has been just as the heart would wish. 2014 is going to be a biggy for us all. I can feel it in my bones!-x.M

  4. Pingback: January Challenge – My Awakening & Moving Forward | seeingM

Leave a Reply

