seeingM

Why Bother With Beauty

I was working on a little project the other day using some beads sourced from Africa.  As I did this, I was struck to my core by the little bits of beauty and creativity that they represented, gifting me the ability to embellish out in the world around me in a way that helped free my mind.  They, for me, were little magic reminders of imagination holding the key to free ourselves from prisons of limitation that exist only in our minds.

There is such incredible beauty to be found in the small adornments that we so often overlook in our rush to get at the big picture.  And at times, the precious details get overlooked when the clarity of vision blurs during the experience of just trying to keep the head figuratively above water.  Asking if I can see beauty then becomes a wonderful marker for tracking how present I am in any given moment.

What is found as being beautiful itself is wonderfully unique within the eye of each beholder, but remembering our ability to see the world around us as beautiful, is a universal powerful tool for remembering we are all already free.

“God is in the details”  –Ludwig Mies van der Rohe

::

The header picture for this post is one of the most beautiful women I have ever seen.  I feel privileged to have been able to make a bracelet out of some of these very same beads.  Around my wrist I now wear a wonderful reminder of the freedom and beauty that we all be.

Close your eyes and imagine something beautiful.
Now open them.
Make it real again.

::

Cover of Coldplay song which was written after also being inspired by that particular scene in Shawshank Redemption:

When she was just a girl
She expected the world
But it flew away from her reach so
She ran away in her sleep
And dreamed of paradise
Every time she closed her eyes
Life goes on, it gets so heavy
The wheel breaks the butterfly
Every tear a waterfall
In the night the stormy night she’ll close her eyes
In the night the stormy night away she’d fly
And dreams of paradise
And so lying underneath those stormy skies
She’d say, “oh, ohohohoh I know the sun must set to rise”
This could be paradise

This entry was published on August 27, 2013 at 11:13 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

12 thoughts on “Why Bother With Beauty

  1. The cover for that particular song was shot in my stunningly beautiful home State of Utah. The group The Piano Guys ( http://thepianoguys.com/ ) are wonderful examples of the beauty that can be created in the world and they are members of the church that helped form my heart.

    This is what happens when you have a dream of sharing beauty and then trust that you can make it a reality:

  2. Just love that shining face adorned with beads!

    • I so agree. I think it is the strength of her presence in the moment of the photo that hits my heart. She is reeaallyy there and looking into the camera. She takes my breath away. -x.M

  3. The song has amazing blends of African, Celtic and modern pop music. Beauty is love, pretty sure! 🙂

    • Wonderful deeper dive and I agree! I think that beauty is what love does when it is creating from conscious consciousness in the external world. Beauty is love in motion. What a wonderful first lens for experiencing in the world that is to be. -x.M

  4. At 7:30 am, I saw a presumably homeless man making his way down the side of the busy, economically depressed road where I drive to my college. The morning sun was illuminating his strained face in such a way – I saw his bones beneath his skin. I felt some of the pain behind his eyes – I don’t mean that poetically – I felt a bit hungover or foggy by looking through his eyes for such a brief moment. His predicament, his pain, and his beauty were so startling to me – his presence and bone structure blended with this arresting beauty you have so hauntingly placed here in my mind. I don’t know what it is about walking around in a body with the thoughts turned off here and there – but the bones beneath the skin, the pawn shops, the swaggers born of violence, the ones who walk on foot while others drive – all seem so beautiful too. the beauty bothers with me. all ways grateful for the expansion you instigate 🙂

    • “…the beauty bothers with me”

      I am now, as so often, left speechless at the capacity for the view that your allowing of this brings. You enrich our world one sight and one more stunningly beautiful word shared to describe it at a time. -x.M

  5. Pingback: tasting it | Life as Improv

    • So easy to allow in when I get to spend time with ones who mirror the beauty that they are back into the world around me. Time with these precious being is always delightful and well spent. xo.M

Leave a Reply

