seeingM

Looking For A Stranger To Love

Recently I was gifted a walk down memory lane.  During the time when my husband and I were courting (which btw, has not ended -thank you Jesus 🙂 ) he used the word “grok” while we were Skyping (him in England, me in USA having never met face to face yet).

In the course of our chat, he asked if I had ever read Stranger In A Strange Land by Robert Heinlein.  I had not.  On the day we were talking, I was in the middle of a multi day trip, working out on the road without the time or the ability to get to a book store.  So, I noted down the title and headed back out to fly. (I STILL have the addiction to the smell and feel of real books and can’t quite make the connecting flight on to the e-book format!)

THIS IS THE GOD’S HONEST TRUTH:

The VERY next day, when I am done with flying and on to cleaning the plane (which is something flight attendants and pilots do at the company I work for before we head to the hotel…done to help turn the airplane on the ground quickly so it is ready as soon as possible to go back out and fly with a new crew) what do I find left in a random seat back pocket in the section I am assigned to clean:    ???

Robert A. Heinlein_1961_Stranger In A Strange LandI AM NOT KIDDING!!!

Talk about a gift from the universe for learning to tangibly grok the nest!

If you have not read this book, run to your front door and see if the library fairy from the bookmobile has hit a pothole near your house! (-I adore poking fun at the ample chances for exposing the woo woo that weaves my life together-) And, barring that, head out and get yourself a copy (or for those of you who have mastered the e switch: http://www.amazon.com/Stranger-Strange-Land-Remembering-Tomorrow-ebook/dp/B000TO0TDK/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1403985232&sr=8-2&keywords=stranger+in+a+strange+land )

And from Stranger In A Strange Land:

  • “Anybody can look at a pretty girl and see a pretty girl. An artist can look at a pretty girl and see the old woman she will become. A better artist can look at an old woman and see the pretty girl that she used to be. But a great artist–a master–and that is what Auguste Rodin was–can look at an old woman, portray her exactly as she is . . . and force the viewer to see the pretty girl she used to be . . . and more than that, he can make anyone with the sensitivity of an armadillo, or even you, see that this lovely young girl is still alive, not old and ugly at all, but simply imprisoned inside her ruined body.”
  • “I’ve been kissed by men who did a very good job. But they don’t give kissing their whole attention. They can’t. No matter how hard they try parts of their minds are on something else. Missing the last bus—or their chances of making the gal—or their own techniques in kissing—or maybe worry about jobs, or money, or will husband or papa or the neighbors catch on. Mike doesn’t have technique . . . but when Mike kisses you he isn’t doing anything else. You’re his whole universe . . . and the moment is eternal because he doesn’t have any plans and isn’t going anywhere. Just kissing you.”
  • “I’ve found out why people laugh. They laugh because it hurts so much… because it’s the only thing that’ll make it stop hurting”

    “But that’s not all people laugh at.
    Isn’t it? Perhaps I don’t grok all its fullness yet. But find me something that really makes you laugh sweetheart… a joke, or anything else- but something that gave you a a real belly laugh, not a smile. Then we’ll see if there isn’t a wrongness wasn’t there.” He thought. “I grok when apes learn to laugh, they’ll be people.”

Oh, the overwhelming joy to once again have found a fellow stranger like me in N… a man focused on living in a deeper way in the world; a man who could gift me Stranger In A Strange Land, who lives, loves and creates with the Master’s artist eye.

Priceless are those who can give us their whole attention as we laugh our way through life…thereby gifting and birthing the capacity to grok it all.

(Thank you Michael Valentine Smith (& Michael M. at Embracing FOREVER 🙂 ) for inspiring this remembering!)

 

– – – – – –

I have already shared this song once before, but it is too good to leave buried in a comment somewhere else and as it also so totally applies to looking for the stranger within to love, I offer it up again:

You say you want it, but
You can’t get it in
You got yourself a bad habit
Oh look at you, walking up and down a pole
I say breathe, stay with me
You say you want it, but
You can’t get it in
You got yourself a bad habit
Oh man, oh man, oh man
You know I wish I had it all

Baby got our head down
Baby try’na stand down in the crowd
Looking for a stranger
Looking for a stranger to love
You got to touch your eyes and crush your tears
You gotta let go, come with me
Looking for a stranger
Looking for a stranger to love

http://sunsetintherearview.com/kooks-bad-habit/

::

And as a lovely little layer for walking up and down those poles in life, a BEAUTIFUL tangible example of the inner strength we all have available to us when we choose to remember, when we choose to love the stranger in a strange land and walk self home to the nest, having it all.

 

This entry was published on July 1, 2014 at 2:09 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Looking For A Stranger To Love

  1. Fab post, M! I hardly read a book, but maybe I’m going to ask our library fairies her , if they have it somewhere on a shelf somewhere! 🙂 P x

Leave a Reply

